Vegan & Vegetarian Food Favorites 2013

I am fast approaching a solid year since my big life decision to go vegetarian.  I can say for certain it has been the best decision I have ever made as it has actually changed me in so many great ways.  The way I think about everything has changed.  I think about the pros and cons of things more than ever.  I think about why I do what I do and whether it is worthwhile.  My thinking is clear.  Anyway, today I want to share a few of the many great foods I have discovered since quitting meat – foods I would never have discovered if I’d just kept going with the flow.

Daiya Products = I really hadn’t thought about going vegan but a friend recommended these dairy substitutes and I thought “what do I have to lose”.  Holy COW!  😉  What I should have thought is “What do I have to gain?”  Flavorrrrr!  SO much good gooey flavor in these faux cheeses.  Husband uses them artfully in his enchiladas. Along with a mix of quinoa and wild rice, black beans and tomatoes and verde green enchilada sauce. It is sheer heaven.  Just give these products a try – they are gluten/soy/dairy free and 100% yummy.  http://us.daiyafoods.com/

Manjula’s Kitchen – Indian Vegetarian Recipes http://www.manjulaskitchen.com/ = This has been my first experience with authentic Indian food and I am amazed!  Why does my city not have any Indian restaurants??  The spices used and blended…this is comfort food for me.  I love lentils.  My friends cooked the tomato chutney and I swear I had never tasted anything so flavorful and filling.

Coconut Yogurt.  Coconut Oil for Cooking.  Coconut Milk.  Flax Milk.  This stuff puts regular milk to shame.  😉  http://sodeliciousdairyfree.com/products/coconut-milk-beverages
http://www.goodkarmafoods.com/products/  I use Good Karma Flax Milk Vanilla – very smooth.  I have used almond milk but find it a bit too nutty for my personal taste.  I am allergic to soy milk.
You can make a delicious ice cream substitute using bananas and almond milk.  Just freeze the banana and blend with the almond milk, very easy.  Add peanut butter for extra flavor.

Finally, for quick and easy and satisfying I rely on Amy’s Kitchen burritos. http://www.amys.com/products/product-categories/burritos-and-wraps

I am likely missing something, this is off the top of my head.  I will have to make another post to note the great vegetarian food I have enjoyed while eating at restaurants.  I hope you’ll give these foods a try – I wouldn’t share them if they weren’t good!

4 thoughts on “Vegan & Vegetarian Food Favorites 2013

Leave a Reply

